Being Kind To Yourself

I am my own worst critic, to the point where I actually think I’m that worthless and massive emptiness inside will never be filled with anything remotely positive.

In my own mind I’ve seen the dark side, I know that sounds melodramatic, how else can I explain the way my mental health has taken its toll on me, literally 24/7 my disruptive negative thoughts crash through my head causing mayhem, I constantly think about the past creating scenarios in which I change events in an attempt to make me feel better, it doesn’t.

I keep falling back on bad habits to cope even with intensive CBT, on the other hand I try to predict the future again creating scenarios where I would be happy with my issues behind me, that doesn’t really work either.

So what I do is beat myself up, and frankly I’m without mercy when I do that, of course the only purpose it serves is to make me feel worse, and the emptiness remains, as does the pain.

During CBT I’ve been learning mindfulness about being in the moment, this is hard to just clear your mind and being present, I confess I haven’t been too successful in this but S says it can take up to six months practice before I will note any real changes in how I think and react to stressful situations.

I have to try to be more active, so I started power walking in the mornings, usually around an hour, with 10 minuets meditation at the end, I tend to stop and start a lot, as the thoughts keep finding their way in, so one or two mornings I can get through my routine, the other times it’s difficult.

My therapist S recommended this book by Mark maxresdefaultWilliams, I’ve found this to be very helpful, it gives practical easy to follow methods on how to calm anxiety and manage depression, there is a CD that comes with the book, on using meditation to get better results in practicing mindfulness.

Here is a link from YouTube to the meditation: https://youtu.be/HEyaQ_iTBcs?list=PLEJsm6_JcM2DsPuoWLnMpEFJLkXKykVc9

 

 

I only have 5 mores sessions of CBT, so I’m going to be working really hard to get the best from the remaining time.

I have to learn to be kind to myself, I no longer wish to dwell on the past, or try to predict the future, being in the now will be the next chapter in my journey to restoring my mental health.

Cay x

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Blogs, Depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being Kind To Yourself

  1. JC says:

    Mindfulness saved my life. I read Jon Kabot-Zinn. Any book by him is good. He also gave a talk at Google which is informative and funny, it’s at…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nwwKbM_vJc
    You are correct, we should always be kind to ourselves. You are in my thoughts… jc

    Liked by 1 person

  2. breakdownchick says:

    CBT is great! Good luck with it. I can relate on the self beating. My self beaters are relentless. I understand now that they developed to help me survive; but, reconditioning them is constant work. I will have to check out this book. Thanks as always, for sharing.

    Like

Comments are closed.