Towards A New Horizon

tumblr_lpdjbmFpTv1qbqwc2o1_1280-e1316665614308I had my second visit with my new GP yesterday, I have to say that my confidence grew a little more during my appointment.

Again there was no time limit, and was allowed to expand further on a few of the topics discussed on the previous visit,again she showed excellent listening skills, and proved the point by asking the relevant questions, and was very reassuring when I started crying again, she commented “you have a lot of tears, it’s time to let them fall”.

With our first diagnoses, I am as we thought severely anemic, she went as far as to comment “I’m surprised your still standing” this appears to have been going on for quite some time, some of it linked to being menopausal, and stress due to homelessness, not being able to keep to a proper eating regime, missing out on essential nutrients, my blood pressure was still a little over and manageable.

My diabetes needs better control and were looking altering the dosage, but again linked to the iron deficiency it seems my system is running on empty and needs to be replenished which will take time.

She talked at length about having a complete physical and is sending me for more tests, just to ensure that there are no other things lurking about my system, and felt it was best to deal with anything that might come up from pending results first.

I was relieved to hear this I revealed to her that I have been very worried about my overall health, and some of the places I’ve stayed in over the last couple of years haven’t always been very clean, one place had black mould everywhere which gave me a terrible hacking cough and breathing problems, I’d been living on over the counter medications which only ease some symptoms, and not really deal with the root cause.

I talked about my mental health or lack of it, and still felt strongly that this was a problem, she explained that’s why she wanted to deal with everything else and at least get my body working, when you have deficiencies they can contribute to general state of well-being.

I just wanted to make sure that this area wasn’t forgotten, I was assured that it wasn’t, and to give myself a few weeks then we could look at the causes and find the best way to support me.

Music to my ears “support me” she explained that she was wary of just handing out medications, and preferred when she talked to me more in-depth , she would  then be better placed to refer me to the right service if required, and from her end be better able to monitor my progress.

I’m Ok with hanging on for a few extra weeks, I’d rather commit to the right kind of support rather than go on the merry-go-round, which in the long run could worsen my condition.

My medical reports could place me in the criteria needed to get help from the local council regarding my homelessness, she agreed with this and stated quite clearly that it was having a very adverse effect on my health, and mental state.

I left there yesterday feeling hopeful that at last I’m going to get the support I need, moreover, it could be the beginning of new horizons, I’m still very cautious and my mood though lighter, but certainly not where I was 3 days ago, it will still take a few days to connect with these new feelings, but I desperately want to get better and have a place I can call home.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Depression, Homelessness, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Towards A New Horizon

  1. Cat says:

    I love the image, Cay, very appropriate. I’m overjoyed at this post, what a relief. I was worried last week that you might not get a great response because some GP’s just don’t want to take the time. From experience, the first thing any good MH service would do is check your health first before diagnosing MH issues. She sound totally on the ball and I wouldn’t be surprised if she was already researching her resources in time for your next appointment. The fact is, both your physical and MH are at risk under these living conditions and she obviously gets that completely. Wonderful… bloody marvellous… great news

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, it’s great that you understand, I just feel that maybe, things might go my way.

      I’m a long way off, but need to take those steps, follow that process,

      The image sums up how I feel.

      Thank you as always for your encouragement, it means a lot 🙂
      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gale Wright says:

    When you mentioned in a recent blog that you are diabetic, I thought, how can a diabetic live without a home? It’s so important to have daily control over that condition! I hope this doctor writes the letter, or whatever is needed, for you to show the housing people and get yourself to the top of the list. I am rooting for you!!

    Like

  3. lizzie1322 says:

    I’m so glad to hear you are getting some support from your GP 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. breakdownchick says:

    I’m so glad you found a good GP that cares & that you are taking control of your health! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.