Internal Dialogue(mine)

05133ccf0eb233365619eee658e3782702b6a2-wmI saw an article on Facebook today, about people who talk to themselves, well apparently it’s supposed to be a sign of genius.

http://elitedaily.com/life/culture/people-talk-to-themselves/1105688/

I don’t know about genius, though I do find I can have some pretty interesting talks with myself.

For as long as I can remember I’ve talked to myself, the well runneth over with the ever-changing topics in which I like to converse on(with myself of course).

Even as a child I had real conversations and no I didn’t have an imaginary friend, nor was I discouraged from this activity, my mother also talked to herself, I can still see her now the changing expressions on her face as she debated back and forth, her hands moving in time to her voice, so growing up that was pretty normal in our household.

Often people have looked at me in askance, as I do depending on the conversation talk out loud, and it’s only when someone answers me, that I get thrown of course, and not always able to pick up the threads of the subject or the direction that I was going with it.

I had someone at work months ago declare that I was cookoo, that being said after she had found out I suffered with depression, and not being able to deal with anything to do with the mind, she prefers to label, and so did others, it’s funny because I am very much in the moment, and it amuses me to see the sidelong glances, our the rotating finger-pointing to the head.

Sometimes other people’s complete fear of what they don’t understand, is a topic I debate about often, to me it’s more than just fear but a refusal to accept that sometimes our wires can be crossed, it’s not catching, however does require patience and understanding, in my more uncharitable moments I feel that they need to have that dialogue with themselves but their intellectual ineptness, makes them afraid of what is going inside their own minds.

I tend to store conversations that I’ve had, and ruminate over them later always looking for different perspectives not always finding them but enjoy the exercise, hence another aspect of this is that I like to spend hours just thinking, even though I’ve been told I think too much and too deeply, I’ll connect my love of people watching to this, it always amazes me what you can see when someone thinks no one is watching, it runs the gamut of joy to despair, though I flinch when I connect with despair, and the emotional sponge in me automatically wants so to soak it all up.

Several times in my life I’ve disconnected from myself and the thoughts just became a jumble, never making any sense as they tumbled around my mind without a point of exit, it was during those times when I was afraid to give vent to my thought even internally as they always seem to be hell-bent on loathing self, I would literally attack my own thoughts with loathing, and self-hatred as confidence, faith, hope were expunged from my everyday thinking.

Back to the lighter side, I like talking to myself and have often said I have the most intelligent conversations, even if I do speak for both sides, it can help bring things into focus especially in my working life as I like to be very organised and it takes the place of lists.

Another trait is that you are happily conversing then, will suddenly connect with others so you tend to start in the middle, and that can have a startling effect on others and again the “eye roll” lol whilst you collect your thought and start from the top to explain what you mean.

I suppose it is annoying when  you suddenly stop to go over a finer point in your dialogue, or shout out loud when you feel you have won a point.

I think talking to yourself is very healthy as children we do it all the time, that’s how we learn, but somehow lose the habit once we go to school or are led to believe that it’ not acceptable to talk to oneself(heavens what would people think) even worse if your an adult it’s not considered “normal behaviour”

I wish someone would take the time to explain to me what is normal behaviour and who  set these rules.

Does all this make me a genius or just a little off kilter, either way I’m happy with this facet of my personality and continue with that internal dialogue.

What does your inner dialogue say to you?

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Internal Dialogue(mine)

  1. Tessa says:

    From what I have noticed most people talk to themselves whether they want to acknowledge it or not. I don’t consider it abnormal, but then this comes from someone who isn’t considered normal. Just my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those who do talk to themselves are aware, it is mostly the reaction if others to that.

      It is normal and healthy, and shows that at the very least you can communicate, even if the audience is only you.

      Besides it can be enlightening.

      Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gale Wright says:

    Plus, when you are talking to yourself you are talking to someone who actually listens.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lizzie1322 says:

    I talk to myself all the time! Both outloud and in my head. Everything from reassuring myself, to reminding myself what I need to do and just keeping myself entertained. I don’t think it’s an uncommon thing.

    I also talk to my cat a lot which might be slightly more crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cat says:

    I talk to myself all the time and have some wonderful therapy sessions, although I do get embarrassed when I forget I am outside and it’s so obvious I am having a good old chin wag with little ol me.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.