Waste

index11A -Z Blogging Challenge – Theme: Homelessness

W= Waste

There are an estimated 279,000 empty homes in Britain currently and over 60,000 homeless families, you do the math.

What an obscene waste of resources, that the government talk about affordable housing, and yet they have a huge stock of housing right there, of course some won’t be able to be repaired, and yes it will take a huge investment from them to provide adequate social housing, but isn’t is worth it, or do they prefer to see what to many has become a blight on society which is homelessness.

I’ve always hated waste and to see people just being thrown away to further a political agenda is shameful, and what message does that send to our global community that Britain cannot or will not look after their vulnerable.

When this election is over and the further cuts are revealed the homeless situation will just get worse, there are very few temporary accommodation facilities for families and for singles, it’s very difficult to sofa surf as a single I cannot even imagine what it would be like if I had children, the whole thing is just sickening.

I don’t want to live on benefits, however in the short-term it can help me get situated, and at least get my life back on track, this is the same for many others, we just want a start, however even in the town where I live I see empty homes, and people of all ages sleeping on the streets, how can sleeping rough ever be a viable solution.

images60

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Homelessness, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waste

  1. nfhill says:

    Surfing through A to Z participants and appreciate the sharing of tough, personally informed, writing. I can only say, that the situation is much, much worse in the US. Is there an answer to the echoing question of, “Why?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, I can’t really comapre the different countries, although homeless is global and each country has their own issues with it, however it seems to be growing and the ways of tackling this issues seem to differ greatly.

      I’m relaying my on going issues with homelessness, so my blog in that respect is personal, though my heart goes out to all that are homeless

      Like

  2. Cat says:

    That is just absurd to have so many empty homes while people rough it on the streets and on sofa’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tessa says:

    Same here in the US. They talk about all the empty houses and all the food that gets thrown away.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.