A-Z Challenge for April

APRIL-CALENDAR [2015]I’ve taken the plunge to do the A-Z Challenge

I’ve seen these challenges around and was inspired by somberscribbler read her post and her theme reveal.

I have to post for 26 days straight which will be a challenge in itself, however short posts, so I should be able to manage it.

My theme will be about HOMELESSNESS

AARP_Homeless-1

There is a huge stigma attached to those who like myself are homeless, this affects everybody, and it has many faces and not just confined to those you see sleeping on the streets, and not a subject that people want to talk about openly.

During this last economic crises so many have lost their homes for a variety of reasons, domestic violence, repossession, eviction the reasons are many and the fight to get yourself back into the position of having a home is challenging, as I have faced this, I may not be street homeless, but my status is the same.

images99Some of the letters are going to be tricky, but will have my dictionary handy, and it be good to get my thoughts down over a series of posts and it might help some look at this area with a fresh eye.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Homelessness, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A-Z Challenge for April

  1. Cat says:

    I have been there myself and it’s not easy. There is huge stigma around homelessness, like ‘they put themselves there’. I look forward to your posts

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a really great idea! Education only makes understanding greater.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. henriettamross14 says:

    I will be reading every day. All my love to you. Society makes me sick!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, hopefully it will open some minds about the issues face and break down some of the stigma.

      Liked by 1 person

      • henriettamross14 says:

        I used to work with those without a home. I find the word homeless to be derogatory, due to societal interpretations. Many of those I met had heartbreaking stories and I felt helpless. I still try to help where I can. I believe in compassion.

        Liked by 2 people

      • To me homeless equals invisible, and it’s more than just street homeless, I’ve met many from all walks of life who basically slipped through the cracks.

        I was told a couple of weeks ago that I didn’t look like I was homeless because I looked clean and tidy, didn’t have any addiction issues, therefore not a priority and this from an agency that is supposed to give help and advice.

        Liked by 1 person

      • henriettamross14 says:

        I know it is more than street homeless. That’s awful, obviously too many ingrained preconceptions. How are you?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m Ok ๐Ÿ™‚ your right about the preconceptions, but I want to crack a few of the myths, that surround this issue which is so much bigger than people realise.

        I’ve had a quick peek at your blog and will have a proper look over the next few days, now time for bed otherwise I’ll be up all night chatting!

        Like

  4. coastalbeach says:

    Hi, saw this Canadian commercial for Homelessness and thought of your theme for the month of April (Blogging A to Z).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sharu4ever says:

    Looking forward to your posts ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve signed up to! I look forwards to reading your posts x

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.