Quiet Time!

quiet timeAs I get olde I’ve come to appreciate “quiet time! more and more, the benefit being that I make time for myself and thoughts.

I live in a historical town in the UK, and there are so many nooks and crannies which I’ve found over the years where I can escape the treadmill for a bit, I don’t even tell my friends where I go these places are just for me, it’s a guilty pleasure.

One of my favourites is walking around the park which is pretty magnificent, and so well-tended and in bloom all year round.wpid-imag0513.jpgWe even have a Castle, which is one of the oldest in Britain, my imagination can run riot thinking about what went on behind those Roman walls, or sitting on the bench by the bandstand(which is great in the summer as the Salvation Army play each week, not hymns, all modern contemporary stuff). I often take a packed lunch and will spend my day off just being quiet.

IMAG0200IMAG0210

It’s such a great feeling to be connected, it seems everybody smiles, which is infectious and brings to mind the days when people did have time, and weren’t slaves to mobile phones and social media, we communicated, we knew our neighbors, we watched children play, their shrieks of laughter echoing around the streets and the lush green grass of local parks/playgrounds.

The silence of your mind when your able to concentrate on a book, as the words from another’s imagination leap out at you drawing you in making you a part of that world of make-believe and real life.

I also like tea shops, which are not as common as I would like, but with some the oldie worldly atmosphere, a huge pot of tea and scones with Devonshire Clotted Cream and Strawberry Jam, or a slice of homemade cake.IMAG0189A, just that lovely feeling of being part of something bigger, again I can while away the hours, listening to the snippets of the chatter around me, laughing to myself at what I hear, sometime when you get the locals who have lived here all their lives you hear stories of how the town used to be, they often lament on the changes, but when I walk around later it’s hard to imagine people lived where there is now a car park, or an estate which was farmland or a factory, all the life that went on before that shaped their lives.

I’m mindful to take time out for myself, to put my thoughts in order or to lift my mood, I’ve come to rely very much on these times, it wasn’t so long ago that I was locked in my mind with little hope of escape, and the lesson I learned is to be kind to yourself, that you matter and even if no one else does I for one will miss the person that I am now.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Depression and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quiet Time!

  1. I also like quiet time. I like to sit in coffee shops and people watch

    Liked by 1 person

  2. absolutecynic says:

    I’ve been trying to find a quiet place. I used to live in a historic city so there were so many places to go, but its difficult being in a London commuter town to find somewhere to sit and be. Starbucks is currently my place of choice due to cold weather, people watching is an addictive hobby!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Being Kind To Yourself | The Rabbit Hole

Comments are closed.