Why…

where-has-the-humanity-goneSeveral times this week I’ve read blog posts that have moved me to tears to anger and back to tears again.

I wonder sometimes at the society we live in, and where all this rage against one another comes from, was it always like that? or have we become so desensitized to the seemingly horrors of daily life that we simply choose to ignore it and try to think of nicer things.

Perhaps I feel things too deeply, but when did it become the norm to standby and be a spectator in what happens to our friends, neighbours, colleagues, I’m not saying you have to like or agree with everyone, but surely violence isn’t the answer.

Why can we not show victims compassion, humanity, why do we seek to blame and condemn, why do people fear coming forward, why do we stigmatise the very people who need our help the most, can we not even imagine for a second to walk a mile in another’s shoes, we don’t have to feel their pain to understand it, we don’t have to cross the street to avoid it, turn up the TV to drown out the screams.

I don’t have the answers, but the questions linger, sometimes we can just reach out, not to look for reward, but just to let someone know, you’ve noticed and you see them as a human being, when you have no voice effectively been stripped of your power and pushed to the edges of society we can longer call ourselves a community, because there will always be someone who needs you to be human, I’m talking about victims, you can never take away their pain, but you can help them to heal.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Humanity, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.