A Life Worth Living.

A-Personal-Mission-Statement-For-Life-568x213In my previous post  Shattered Resolutions I said I would do a mission statement instead of making New Years resolutions, because I believe that changing my thinking will be more beneficial and give me greater focus on how to manage my life constructively going forward.

This will read a bit like the Ten Commandments, but each point used separately or together will form the glue, that will help to shape my everyday thinking and actions.

∼∼∼∼∼

The Statement

This statement will act as my guide to, reclaim my life through changing my thinking to all things pertaining to how I live to how I wish to proceed in the future.

∼∼∼∼∼

The purpose is to make changes that impact in a positive manner and will also give me the ability to think through and resolve issues as they arise, which will keep me moving forward, mindful of lessons learned along the way.

∼∼∼∼∼

My core values will be my rock in which I can draw strength and wisdom, to deal with day-to-day issues, and will keep me focused on why I made changes, the impact they can have and how to continue to keep the changes intact, furthermore give me a benchmark from which I can grow.

∼∼∼∼∼

My actions will define me, and give me that foundation on which to build, my honesty and integrity will be my bedrock on this journey back to being whole.

∼∼∼∼∼

My Values

* To work each and everyday to strengthen the belief that I’m worthy and have the courage to live this value.

* To find a positive everyday and learn the lesson from that, and remember that negatives can become positives.

* Kindness has been shown to me in many ways and I must be mindful to be kind wherever possible.

* To listen and hear what another is saying, remembering it’s not only words that are uttered, pain doesn’t have a sound.

* Endeavor not to judge, until I know the facts, and give support instead, we don’t always know what brings people to a point in their lives.

* Let go of the past, it can only serve to hold you back, I acknowledge it, but it’s time to pack it all away and leave it there.

* Apologise when wrong, own my mistakes otherwise they fester and can do great harm to you and others.

* Laugh more,I’ve almost drowned in my tears and humour is a great leveler, remembering if you smile at someone often you receive a smile in return. 🙂

* Always be open to new ideas and thoughts, take the chance that something good will happen.

* To be straightforward in my dealings with others, I like to know where I stand and want those around me to be able to do the same, honesty, integrity.

* To be a good friend loyalty has always counted for me and will continue in the same vein.

* Manage my expectations, realistically, there will be disappointments, and they won’t mean it’s the end of the world.

* Continue to fight for my recovery from depression and support others where I can, I’ve learned we don’t have to fight battles alone.

* Change old behaviours and thinking, discover and embrace new habits to make your life better.

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Life Worth Living.

  1. That’s a great mission statement 🙂 I have a mission for you, should you choose to accept it… find a passion. It doesn’t matter what it is. It could be meditation, spending an hour a week in your favourite store, going to a movie with a friend, reading, writing, a hobby or a literal passion (*nudge*nudge*wink*wink*) – do something for you that will just calm and relax your soul 🙂

    (I say this because you have some words like “work”, “manage” and “endeavour” in these and this sounds like “effort” LOL Do something that you love that comes easy and that doesn’t require much effort. 🙂 )

    I wish you a very happy and prosperous new year, in every possible way 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks I hadn’t thought of what I can do just for me, doh, but will find that for now it’s just the practical stuff, but i need to find my bliss.

      Thank for your kindness over the last few months it means a lot, Have a great New Year and wish you much luck with your writing and long may it continue, take care x

      Like

  2. Very sendible approach. Totally agree with you. We need to think extensively about how we approach our lives, and then make changes to how we behave and think.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Just A Single Thought | The Rabbit Hole

Comments are closed.