Is Freedom Allowed

05.-Freedom-ButterflyIs freedom allowed? I asked myself the question today, because the madness of the last week or so, makes me think I’ll never be fully free of depression and that comes with it.

I haven’t fallen into a full-blown episode, but the signs are there and today it hit me like a physical blow and immediately my mind screamed “not again” just as it seems determined to engulf me again, I’m fighting back with every fibre of my being, I need my strength now, I need to overcome recent obstacles and if I allow myself to be overtaken by events again well I don’t even want to go there.

The freedom just to be is so enticing and I almost have it, in the reasoned part of my mind I know it’s just a set back a huge one, but not insurmountable, I can and will triumph with this set back , the wheels are in motion and I’ve been proactive to getting a successful conclusion, though as per usual, the doubts and the anxieties linger.

I would like the freedom to just get on with my life, it’s doesn’t have to be this amazing perfect thing I’ve always striven for, I’d be happy with just my peace of mind to be able to enjoy the mundane ans the occasional amazing turns life can give you, it’s not too much to ask is it.

Someone said today “in life we all have problems what makes you so special” my first reaction was to visit some kind of physical violence on them, but I took a breath and counted quickly to ten, smiled sweetly and simply said ” we are all special, and my problems are not the same as yours however as I am not you I have no idea how you travel on your road, but my road is special to me and I’m the only one that can travel on it to reach my end goal”

Of course that was met with silence, that was my positive today because I gave her pause to think, I can only hope that she realises that just because she isn’t depressed that some people can become broken and it takes time to put the pieces back together.

I would also like that everyone who has suffered MH issues have the freedom to talk about not in hushed tones in doctors surgeries but out in the open and not be judged by it.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is Freedom Allowed

  1. Your picture and post so beautifully depict the ‘normal’ we wish for. The freedom from this illness. Let’s get there. You’re ahead of me, but I’ll catch up, friend. Hugs, Hope

    Like

  2. It’s too bad that when I was growing up, mental health was never talked about. I might be in a much better place today. But today, I do have the freedom to talk about it, not just with the doctor or therapist, but with those I know well, and even anonymously in blogging. I wish you a speedy journey through this depression, and back to whatever you might call a ‘normal’ life.

    Like

  3. good for you for giving that person pause. people ought to think “before” they speak. even though it was after the fact, you allowed them to have something to think about. i’m so sorry you are in the place that you’re in right now. it seems as though you have a plan and you’re working through it while trying your best to hold on to hope and other positive things. for that you should give yourself major kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Funny… (well, not really) but when I read your response to that ignorant woman’s words, I was reminded of something that’s been on my mind quite a bit over the past few days… I’m paraphrasing, but… “never judge a person until you have walked a mile in their shoes…”

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.