We Don’t Talk About That!

Quotation-Judith-Guest-tomorrow-family-Meetville-Quotes-152733It has occurred to me, that there are so many things in life we mustn’t talk about, and I just wonder why.

We live a different world to our parents, when talking was more the “do as I say” type communication, that was in many ways more about conditioning, because your were never going to old enough to have that adult conversation.

We live in a communication age some would say we over communicate, through social media, but as face to face seems less likely you have to air your views through other mediums.

Blogging for me has always been cathartic it’s my headspill and I get to talk about the subjects  I want with like minded people, and as much as I love my friends who are fabulously supportive, they still don’t get it all and when faced with the harsh realities, it’s still for them to take it all on board.

In our society which seems to be going backwards at warp speed many subjects are now considered taboo, simply because the real truth about what people go through in their lives is too much to bear, so they pretend it’s not happening, which then drives it further underground and makes it seem dirty, and when you confidence is shot, your mind altered it reinforces your own unworthiness.

Why can’t we talk about Mental Health problems, eating disorders, domestic violence,sexual assaults, abuse, what makes us fear this interaction so much, that people through fear of judgement live with their silent terror, therefore through no fault of their own enable the silence, distrust, their abusers.

As for myself recent events have made me open up, inside I curdled with embarrassment, the shock has worn off, I got up went to work, that is not to say I’ve dealt with it on an emotional level, that’s still creeping up on me, however as I said last night something snapped and I’m still teetering on which way to fall, and hope strength finds me to deal with this latest obstacle, I need to stop failing, and I need to be able to talk about it and not be a statistic.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Depression, Homelessness, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Don’t Talk About That!

  1. I agree we should be able to talk about this type of stuff! I hope things get better and easier for you soon. I’ll always be here to talk.

    Like

  2. socokat says:

    I have experienced that look of discomfort on a friends face when talking about my struggles with mental illness. Here is what I finally believe: when you are tackling your issues head on it is difficult for others because it is a reminder to them of what they leave behind closed doors. Self-awareness isn’t a process, it’s a way of living and it’s not for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, and you have to choose carefully as many think that depression is an indulgence.

      Liked by 1 person

      • socokat says:

        In my life, it has fractured my family. My “indulgences” (love that description btw) do not reflect well on the family. Pesky self-awareness – and inconvenient truths – leaves the honest and most vulnerable isolated and labeled as defective. I’ve been given the messages my entire life to suffer in silence and bad things simply are not discussed. Shame is a silent killer of ones spirit.

        Like

      • Exactly, the shame and the silence enables this terrible illness to fester and go untreated for years.

        Like

Comments are closed.