Community

bcIn terms of being in recovery I again feel a sense of belonging not only in my daily life but certainly in my online blogging community.

I feel humbled on a daily basis when I read about the daily struggles many of you have with Mental Health issues, which take many forms.

I’ve learned so much about the different aspects of depression, bipolar, self harm, suicide, also I’ve learned that our various health services are not always the best, certainly in many areas under funded and not able to serve the community as a whole, so many of us go through years of different diagnoses, medication, therapy to no avail and with no real support available.

My own experiences with medical profession has been a mixed bag, until you find a doctor that has time and is willing to listen I felt that your just medicated and sent on your way, which believe me doesn’t help without consistent support the pills don’t work.

I also found it quite odd that when I did go to the GP I was given a tick list of possible symptoms and from that a diagnoses was made, nobody wanted to talk to me and I felt as though I was wasting their valuable time with my problems, especially when you go back over and over you come across as hysterical, and spoken to like a child, and of course they up your medication.

I stopped taking my meds when I read the possible side effects, scared the crap out of me, so I stopped taking them , and went through a pretty nasty withdrawal period, but at least I didn’t feel as though I was wading through treacle, I was then given a leaflet with a number on it, sometimes I felt as though being moved along on a conveyor belt to the next stop.

Medication helps but you need the support to go with it, and you can’t always get that from friends and family, if your lucky as I was a hero comes along and that made all the difference.

So back to community with those that I follow I feel a connection a common bond and we can support each other through our words here, because also this is the place where we can really be honest and our followers understand.

This is not about giving medical advice but offering support and perhaps in the different geographical areas there are places or organisations who can be contacted, this is also about sharing resources, and mostly letting others know they are not alone.

Over the next few days I’ll be re-blogging posts and a few are writing posts for the feature that you might find helpful and gain additional readership, as a community at least on here we can create a strong community of support to raise awareness and diminish the stigma of Mental Health issues.

http://www.mind.org.uk/

http://www.nhs.uk/NHSEngland/AboutNHSservices/mental-health-services-explained/Pages/services-explained.aspx

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Community

  1. 🙂 I agree! The community on here is so strong and brave and so helpful. The support I receive on a daily basis is so important to me.

    Also here is the link to the post for you 🙂

    https://www.evernote.com/shard/s458/sh/ae7b74a0-c12e-4ed5-89a0-8c7da09dcc7c/e924405dc220e2227def4eed82e4b21e

    Like

Comments are closed.