Comments & Replies

 

 

10612891_786328408094717_4296011023170088554_nAs most of my posts are tagged in the Depression category, I just wonder how you manage commenting.

I hit the “like” button as a show of support, however there are many blogs I feel moved to comment on even if I don’t follow their blog.

I see so many similarities to my own particular issues with depression, though at times it’s difficult to gauge just how honest you should be(personally I feel that’s the best option) and clearly not everyone wishes to give every detail.

There have many times I’ve cried at what I’ve read, but am unable to fashion a response that expresses empathy and encouragement, sometimes you also have a gut feeling when reading between the lines that is more, and that’s hard because you have nowhere to go with and just hope they keep writing, so you can keep track.

There are also so many forms of mental illness I only really know about mine, and know only what I have read or conversations with others, so again I’m stymied with how to comment, but I’m learning so much, and realising that there is help but most have no idea how to go about it, or more importantly if they are ready to tackle their various issues.

The irony here is that even a recovering depressive, can find it difficult to talk about the myriad of different conditions fearing through lack of understanding you may offend.

I notice that some bloggers prefer just to write and not interact, I get that, and the cathartic process of writing is another way of self-help, I see a lot of advice given, though quite a lot of it are generalisations, however if you can find something in that which helps that’s a good thing.

In replying I enjoy the dialogue and comments give me another aspect to consider, especially when the commenter is drawing from experience when replying I don’t feel that I have to tell my story from scratch.

There are also times when you receive comments that are so out of context, that you have to go back and read the piece again, but this shows lack of understanding on one hand or they really didn’t know what to say.

My blog is not about being patted on the back “well done your over it” I’m not, what I seek is two-fold, to telly my story which helps me, but also to raise awareness that we can all succumb to this terrible illness, and we don’t have to be silent or ashamed, we need help and for that to happen we need somebody to listen.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Depression, Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comments & Replies

  1. I’ve nominated you for my mashed-up One Lovely Liebster Blog Award. Check it out here and take your pick if you feel like keeping the share/love flowing: http://mediocremegblog.wordpress.com/2014/10/14/the-one-lovely-liebster-blog-award/

    Like

Comments are closed.