Someone To Watch Over Me.

I was at a christening today and what a joyous occasion it was, and being somewhat involved in the organisation of the day, I was especially pleased, we ate drank and were very merry, not to forget the star of the show baby N who smiled and gurgled throughout.

The christening obviously held in a church brought me to the matter of faith, luckily we were allowed to choose if we wanted to continue going to church, my brother and I chose not to, though he has since become a born again christian and is happy with his choice and has faith.

Faith there is that word again and today I wondered as i don’t seem to have this particular faith I wondered would I burst into flames upon entering sacred ground, I didn’t remembering belatedly my late mothers words that she had me christened therefore I would always have protection and had faith that I would someday return to the fold.

I’m not going to get into the religious debate, however as I listened to the service today I wondered did I actually have faith or simply what did I strongly believe in that would give me that additional layer or higher level of faith.

Well my beliefs over the last couple of years have been tested in more ways than I care to remember, but remember them I do because I have learned that shit can happen to anyone and it has no filter, and it’s more about how you deal with it, when you are ready to deal with disasters that happen in our lives there is no magic button , and often you have to retreat deep within yourself before you can emerge on the other side.

I’ve always had my own set of truths that I have tried to live by, not that it always works and often have to adapt my thinking to overcome a situation and they are my truths in the way I wish to lead my life, I don’t ask others to accept them as I try not to judge their life principles, though I question often but more as a way to understand where they are coming from.

So as I sat there today listening, I began to think of the church in another way well this particular church who had both male and female vicars they reach out daily to the community and provide quite an organic service to the people they serve, and it wasn’t done in a preachy way, very interactive, entertaining but with a clear message that they were there if and when needed all were welcome.

As to my own faith I don’t think church is for me, however I can live my life with honour, integrity and honesty, compassion, humanity, humility and learned wisdom and I have faith in me to see each day through living and breathing my truths.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Blogs, Compassion, Culture, Health, Humanity, Kindness, Relationships, The big blog collection, Thoughts, UK Blogs, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Someone To Watch Over Me.

  1. Like most people, I think there’s a big difference between spirituality and religion and ultimately, you need to be true to yourself. A relationship with God (for want of a better word) is a deeply personal one and as long as you’re not harming anyone else – directly or otherwise – I honestly don’t think God would have an issue with it.

    Like

  2. I agree with thelastsoniheard, I believe there’s a difference between spirituality and religion. I was raised a catholic my entire life and when I was 17 I realized that religion was not what I believed in. I don’t quite know what I believe in, but I am definitely a very spiritual person. I guess I identify as agnostic in many ways, but that’s not entirely who I am.

    I was raised to believe many things that now seem ludicrous to me. Catholicism, like every religion out there, has many rules and is flawed in several aspects. I don’t judge people based on their religion and try to respect diversity, but I just think that as long as you’re nice to each other and don’t offend other people intentionally then everything’s fine. Just be nice to each other and don’t hurt others.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for your comment, I’ve always felt there is nothing wrong with religion, it’s the people that preach it! I like diversity we can all learn from that, but your right be nice to each other, we don’t all have to agree but can try to see anothers view and accept that it’s different from yours.

    Like

Comments are closed.