Kindness, Not So Random!

imagesI love the simplicity of this quote, changing the world seems like a big “ask” but the message is powerful.

With the various challenges I’ve faced over the last 2 years the acts of kindness that have bestowed on me have reinforced my belief that people are decent more importantly acts of kindness need no thanks and if we think about we probably do them everyday.

We can make differences everyday to someones day, their life, I usually start with a smile often amazed how often I get a smile back and a good morning etc.

I don’t necessarily want to do the 365 day challenge as that would require thought and I would rather be spontaneous but can still achieve the goal of a daily kindness, and that should start with yourself, I know that sounds a little self-absorbed but think about it if  we can’t like ourselves how are we to give back.

I’m a firm believer that we all live in this society in all our glorious cultures, shapes sizes, ages and we all bring something to the table to share to learn, laugh cry, we can all judge but we know nothing of another’s journey and what brings them to a certain point in their lives, compassion and humanity is the key because without it we in my opinion are lost.

For me now that have pulled through the darkest two years of my life(not to be revisited) I’ve decided that being in the land of the living deserves another chance and by being kinder to myself means I deserve like everybody else to be a part of society the community.

So my own random act of kindness is that I give myself permission to be happy and from this I’ll start each day with a smile and smile at those I encounter and who knows what random act of kindness they might perform just from a simple smile.

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Blogs, Compassion, Culture, Depression, Education, Health, Humanity, Kindness, Relationships, The big blog collection, Thoughts, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.