Domestic Goddess…….Not

I’m not a domestic creature at all,in fact anytime spent as a slave to your house to me is wasted.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not a complete slob I do what is necessary and sometimes a little extra beyond that the house is on its own.

But house work is soul-destroying and I wonder at my friends especially those with kids how they keep their homes sparkling, for years I wished I had a cleaning fairy, but he has not visited yet, but I live in hope.

Do I really want to clean grouting with a toothbrush, isn’t that more labour intensive, do I have to move every stick of furniture to clean behind it,as Quentin Crisp said “dust doesn’t get any worse after four years” well I wouldn’t know about that.

I have a friend who pulls out her cooker weekly my god if that’s not someone in need of alcohol then I don’t know who is.

Ironing another thankless task I remember watching my mother standing for hours ironing, I’d shudder especially when she said you’ll be doing this one day, thankfully that day has never arrived.

When you read magazines and all these little tips use a lemon to clean your copper pans,well lemon is to add to my drink and I wouldn’t buy copper pans if it takes that much work, vinegar is for dressing and all the other household things to join the army under the sink(cleaning materials).

Life is too short to clean an oven really it is and the only person who ever wanted to inspect my house was my mother, seriously she tutted her way through my home whilst I giggled in childish glee knowing I’d left things for her purposely to find, then refused to discuss it stating this was my house and I’ll do as I please..ahhhhh the memories.

So while I admire the Bree Vandekamps of this world(desperate housewives) it’s not for me THERE is always something more fun to do or should I say worth while.

Are you a domestic /goddess/god and please tell me where do you find the time.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Humour, Sex and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Domestic Goddess…….Not

  1. 5kidswdisabilities says:

    I’m with you…

    Like

Comments are closed.