It’s More Than Black & White

I read an excellent article today, http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/commentators/yasmin-alibhai-brown/yasmin-alibhaibrown-whats-worse-than-racism-complaining-about-it-7945387.html

The article itself will be self explanatory about racism in sport, however I feel that it’s part of a larger issue that we be it a person of colour or not rarely want to talk about it in a meaningful way.

The point being racism is here, it’s a living breathing thing  that can and has blighted many lives throughout the years, in the UK even there are many laws that protect against the more day-to-day bigotry, but people know that it’s unacceptable to airs those views publicly, so it becomes hidden.

With the PC brigade on the march over the last twenty years or so, people are now afraid to talk through fear of offending someone, but if you don’t talk about how can anything be resolved and the merry-go-round of discussion has got us nowhere.

I remember back in the late sixties early seventies seeing signs in windows “No Blacks No Irish” and not being served in some shops and we didn’t even have segregation here, and our race relations in the UK is amongst the best in Europe but still there remains problems.

This is learned behaviour kids pick it up at home and repeat to their friend in the playground, and it’s up to adults to teach kids why this it’s wrong to discriminate against other races in fact anyone who they deem to be different.

The government and employes have strict rules about racism and must be prepared to have full and fair investigations, though I will say not all accusations are true, and far too many use this as a defence for poor performance and work or just to accuse to defend bad behaviour, hence why each case must be looked into carefully, someone saying the word “Blackboard” in front of a black person does not constitute racism, the is the PC social disease at work.

I would say that people in general should call others on it when they see it happening I’ve been in situations where someone has made decidedly racist remarks and people tend to look down and be embarrassed then say to you later how awful it was, well if that’s the case why not speak up, you rarely get a clear answer to that.

I’m not saying everyone should rush out and be crusaders, but you can do your bit as and when you see it, and the act of saying “I think that’s wrong” will make people stop and think about what they’re saying.

There are many who will never change their minds they think anyone of colour is inferior to them, and take pleasure in issuing racial taunts, which can and does erupt into violence, it’s not enough to say that people of an older generation don’t mean it, anyone one with a TV set or radio knows it’s unacceptable.

As with sport footballer who are over paid and feel that they’re untouchable are just as wrong as sport is the one thing that does bring people together and when a black or white player resorts to racist taunts it diminishes not only the game, but the fabric of our society because we feel they should know better as they’re representatives of a team.

I for one never let anyone speak to me in that way or make me feel less than because of the colour of my skin, I don’t make assumptions about a person’s character, music tastes, culture, based on their skin tone, so why should I allow them to judge me based on one thing only.

As Martin Luther King said that he had a dream that man should not be judged by the colour of his skin but by the content of his character, that was true when he said it and it’s true now.

I won’t get many comments here perhaps a few likes why…because people don’t want to talk about it lest they be judged for being racist just for talking about it sadly.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Education, The big blog collection, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s More Than Black & White

  1. When I lived abroad, there was a lot of tension between races, and I was shouted at or spoken down to for being white. It makes you suddenly appreciate what being in the minority is like and how threatening it is to be turned on. At the same time, sometimes it was refreshing to not worry about the PC thing. There were two teachers in the school were I taught called Yvonne. The kids just used to call them Black Yvonne and White Yvonne, because there was no other way really to distinguish them. I never said it myself but it was nice to see the kids just being matter of fact about it. No discriminating or poking fun. Just pointing out which Yvonne they meant!

    Like

    • Well kids often simplify things, and there was abousoutly no har in what they said, were stifled over here by the PC police.

      I can imagine how difficult it was for you at times, being in the minority, especially when abroad, you have to walk a very fine line.

      Like

  2. Dear trh,

    I was going to press Like because I like your post, then I read your last sentence and what you said in it is very, very true. People ARE uncomfortable, and fearful, of discussing this and you’re right, those feelings have been brought about by the political correctness that’s gone into overdrive to the point where, in my opinion, it’s causing just as much harm by forcing down the thoughts and feelings that should be discussed openly – by that I mean REAL talking, to educate and distinguish between what is offensive and what is genuinely inoffensive. Part of the problem is not knowing.

    A friend of mine (before I had Hermititis and all my friends drifted away) used to get angry at political correctness – she found it insulting that middle-class white people were dictating the words she should use (or not use) to describe HERSELF. She saw it as another form of control – a condescending, manipulative type of control dressed up as being ‘helpful to minority groups.’ I have to say I agreed with her and I still do – what gives one race the right to say what is offensive to other races? How many of the p.c. “rules” were written by the people they are supposed to help? How many people of different races are even consulted when these rules are being thought up? One of the things that got her mad was, like you said, calling a blackboard a blackboard in front of a black person – it isn’t racism – but changing the name of a blackboard to ‘whiteboard’ (as they did in the schools around here) makes no sense at all – it implies that white people are superior enough to ‘take it’ when black people aren’t.

    Self-segregation is a problem too. I live on the outskirts of a mulitcultural city up North where bad race riots have taken place. The powers-that-be in City Hall insist that everything is fine now but in reality the city is separated into white areas and Asian areas and I don’t see that changing any time soon. Individual families who have assimilated themselves are accepted and liked for who they are, their differences are valued and fascinating – but the majority of people don’t seem to WANT to be part of the culture they’ve chosen to live in, they want their own schools, their own areas etc etc and that does cause ill-feeling (not only with white people).

    Oops, sorry, I’ve nearly written a post. What was I saying about having wordy block??? 😉

    Love Dotty xxx

    Like

    • Yo have stated all the points very well, it also drives me nuts when people tell me how I should conduct myself or moderate my speech especially as I don’t suscribe to the PC brigae nor do I make racist comments towards anyone.

      Blackboard is an everyday word it’s a board and it’s black, it’s the same as the nursery rhyme “Baa Baa Black Sheep” is now considered racist, it’s taken the whole thing so far out of context it makes it difficult to discuss in any reasoned manner.

      There is always talk of improvments as regards race in our cities I’d love to know where they get their information from as clearly rioting goes over their heads, it’s just hidden better as I said in my post people know what words they can use publicly and don’t, however many are accused unfairly by those trying to buck the system and that really pisses me as I said those that really suffering this type of abuse are ignored, nobody wants to listen to what’s real, but demonise those who use everyday words.

      Our difference are what make for a a great mix, not only does it ad greatly to the culture but ensures it continues to grow through diversity and acceptance.

      There has always been self segregation, but not in schools as regards lesson and allowances for different religious beliefs.

      When I was at school everybody had to attend assembly and sin hymns etc, but it went further than that Christmas was celebrated also birthdays including parties, and no one ever had to give up any part of their culture or traditions in fact we loved learning about them, this is how multicultural communities are formed.

      Those who under the guise of “helping” minority make me want to hurl, as they have no clue and tend not to live within multicultural areas or have cross section of friends from all parts of the community they intellectualise, which is easy but the daily reality is so much more different, your friend was right it is a for of control to attempt to keep a lid on a problem that has never been properly addressed, instead of making concessions and laws that don’t stand up, find solutions to make things work better and that harmonise as opposed to further segregating.

      Like

Comments are closed.