Oh I do like To Be Beside The Seaside

Day trips and an annual holiday’s spent at the seaside were a national pastime here in the UK in days gone by.

It didn’t even matter if the weather was good it was your one chance per year to get away and you took full advantage, though some of the guest houses left much to be desired.

Spending all day on the beach, for kids it was such a treat in and out of the sea, there were fun fairs. amusement parks, Punch & Judy shows, donkey rides( I fell off).

Making sand castles on the beach, your mother going in for her yearly dip into the sea, believe it or not people actually changed into their swim wear with only a towel wrapped around them..lol.

Of course there were the post cards even if you only went for a week you sent home a card and brought back sticks of rock.

Here’s some very old postcards with a few saucy ones added.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Nostalgia, Posters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh I do like To Be Beside The Seaside

  1. I remember changing on the beach in a towel! Hilarious! Great post.

    Like

  2. LOL Gotta love the saucies… like a good Carry On film… ooooh matron, you are awful…. LOL

    Incidentally, one of the best autobiogrpahies I ever read (if you can technically call it that) was Kenneth Williams’ diaries… I gave it away some years ago and kinda wish I’d kept it…

    Like

  3. Wonderful stuff – had me tittering!

    Like

Comments are closed.