Privacy Is A Myth

Reading an article in The Independent by Janey Godleyabout a public breakup, she added the entire transcript of what she tweeted to the Independent Blogs section Live-tweeting a very public break up

What surprised me the most were the comments about how intrusive her article was and that were all entitled to our privacy.

I do believe were entitled to our privacy, however we must take responsibility for what we put out there, it appears everything is now fodder and to some newsworthy, either way with social networking, mobile phones privacy is a myth.

Think about all the ways in which we as individuals communicate, and the array of devices that we use, there’s very little talking going on, were just exercising our fingers as we either type , text to report our every movement.

I’ve heard very public breaks up’s and worse on trains, bars, restaurants, shops on the street, your neighbours who choose to discuss their personal business in the garden, it’s a constant assault on the senses.

We have Big Brother type reality shows, were people have very public meltdowns all for the edification of the public but they call it entertainment, there is confessional TV, there are celebrities who “forget to wear underwear” then blast the journalists who report on it, it’s the same when they are caught with drugs or prostitutes then scream I want my privacy.

If you don’t want people to know about every aspect of your life exercise some self-awareness, of how that information will be perceived, there is a difference of having an untruth reported about you and you talking loudly in a public place about whatever it is that ails you.

I haven’t forgotten blogging, I’m here along with thousands putting my thoughts out there, but at the same time i don’t feel the need to give chapter and verse on very personal areas of my life, there ar some things that are for me only.

Many say reporting about others is fFreedom of Speech an expression I feel is over used, as there are many caveats to the doctrine of Freedom of Speech I’ve always felt that just because we think it, it doesn’t always mean it should be said, especially when used to promote hate or discrimination.

There are many that don’t have the basic right of saying what’s on their minds, and need advocates to speak for them, but it has to be done in a measured way to ensure there is an impact to the words spoken and that they can be acted upon if need be, and that can make a difference.

I often think if you want privacy go talk in the middle of a field or better yet keep your mouth shut as people want to blame others for what befalls them totally ignoring the plain fact that they’re the genesis of that information put out there.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Social Networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Privacy Is A Myth

  1. I agree – privacy is a very subjective matter and it seems to me that people who bray in public, via the keyboard or social messaging are essentially seeking attention rather than the opposite they claim. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  2. I agree too, there’s no such thing as privacy… and while I believe that public figures are entitled to a private life as much as anyone else, I sometimes find it hard to feel sympathy for those celebs who whine about the lack of privacy and then go on some insane publicity binge.

    Just recently I was on a six hour flight, coast to coast, from Philly to Portland, Oregon. About halfway through the flight I heard a couple having a row a few rows back.You heard every f-bomb. I thought it was possibly the worst place to have an argument, for many different reasons…. but I put my headphones on and ignored them.

    Coming into land and it’s time to turn off all electronic devices… and those two were still at it LOL Apparently he was a self-centred bastard who didn’t care about anyone except himself and she was a controlling bitch. Never did quite figure out the reasons why LOL I probably should have listened to the argument, and not my iPod LOL

    Like

    • It’s awful isn’t like watching a car crash and sometimes you have no choice but to listen, but again people do have to be aware and realise not not everyone is interested in them picking over the bones of their relationship.

      As for so called celebrities many manage to live their lives without the constant glare of publicity and others just show their need for attention, but then don’t be hypocritical and cry about it when it’s in the negative when they themselves have orchastrated the situation.

      Like

Comments are closed.