Thank Notes,(what do you really want to say?)

Chatting with a friend we got onto the subject of “thank you” notes, which were at one time were the “de rigueur” of social etiquette.

As a child every time I received a present or had a birthday party or any kind of treat that I was invited to a few days later I had to sit down and write thank you notes.

Writing these notes to your friends wasn’t so bad as you just said the same thing and they were mostly interested in the card anyway, the design etc, it became difficult when writing to adults, as you had to show that not only did you love the gift and it was what you wanted but also the right amount of gratefulness for receiving this bounty.

Of course it’s difficult when you gran/uncle/auntie/ buys you the most hideous item of clothing, totally the wrong style, colour and your six-year-old street cred rapidly going down the pan.

You’d write, “Thank you, for the lovely blouse, it will go with my new trousers, and thank you for taking the time to come to my party.

When you really want to say “Thank you, for the most horrid blouse, and where do exactly do think I’d wear that to”

Or:

Thank you, for making my birthday cake it was delicious and everybody enjoyed it….when really you want to say

Thank you, for making my birthday cake, I literally broke my teeth biting into it and my friends hated it and are now making fun of me.

How many of us have cupboards filled with unwanted gifts, but social protocol dictates that you accept them and write a letter of thanks, and in our house we didn’t do re-gifting lol my mum thought it was rude, so you were left with horrible clothes noxious  perfumes and lets not forget bath salts and soaps fashioned into Victorian shoes.

Even worse when said relative visited you had to wear the item of clothing much to your total embarrassment but to endorse your love of the gift and take your grimace as a mile of delight and you know deep down in your heart of hearts that next year they’ll buy something even more revolting.

Just to look at that for a moment I’m sure there is the “Horrible Gift Shop” that they all seem to visit, I’ve never seen it but it exists, they even sell thank you notes of dubious design too.

I sometimes catch Jimmy Fallon who does a segment on “thank you” notes here’s a few that I like (yes some of us have heard of him in the UK)

Thank you, people who say “I love taking baths” for basically saying “I love relaxing in human dirt soup.

Thank you, Mothballs or as I like to call you old people fabreeze.

Thank you, body pillows for not being called loneliness pillows

What would you really like to say on a thank you note (any situation) post them here in comments.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Humour, Nostalgia, The big blog collection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thank Notes,(what do you really want to say?)

  1. I’m bad a writing thank you notes…

    Like

  2. gaele1 says:

    I think the “horrible gift shop” is closely aligned with the back of the Oxfam shop – or here in the states, the Goodwill. 🙂

    Where they used to be a standard for near on everyone, I think that just saying a simple thank you is more than enough. Especially since snail mail is so rare as to be on the endangered list. But, I completely agree with the difficulty of creating them as a kid – to thank the auntie for the horrible tape and poster of a band you would never listen to…

    Like

    • I think Jimmy Fallon has the right idea, a more humourous approach, but that can only be for certain friends.

      Though I do like the ritual of writing thank you notes, but that was at a time when most people did it, now you give a gift with a reciept so it can be exchanged more quickly and I find that quite sad.

      Like

Comments are closed.