Fried Chicken & Bagpipes

 

I committed two acts today, firstly whilst tootling around town I bumped into a friend who persuaded me to go to the park to listen to bagpipe players I’ve no idea what the occasion was, let me just say it’s not my thing, and my ears almost bled with the sound.

I was surprised a the amount of people there who all seemed to know what they were playing, I tried not to look bored,and didn’t want to be rude so I stayed.

I managed to shake my friend off after the erm concert because I had a yen and it had to be done secretly, so setting of in entirely a different route my tummy rumbling mouth-watering head filled with chicken, I made it to the chickeny place on the high street that just seems to beckon whenever I walk past.

Five spicy wings with a crunchy coating for £1.80 they were delish, and not terribly greasy, but did I say they were delish, as I’m a lady I didn’t even lick my fingers though I wanted to.

Anyway craving satisfied  I could hear the brass band in the distance, they replaced the bagpipes  I honestly don’t know which is worse (sorry to any enthusiasts) but I digress I stumbled into my favourite watering hole, and had a very civilised  large Gin & Tonic and settled down to read my book, I’m on the third of the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo series.

I thought I was hidden in a safe corner but it was not to be, I’m friendly with a few octoganerians who also haunt fave watering hall and one by one I listened to their list of health problems whilst they all seemed to imbibe copious amounts of red wine perhaps that the new thing when you get past seventy drink red wine.

Another G&T followed and my Bagpipe friend found me, so alas only four pages read she did look a bit dubious when I explained my reasons for shooting off as I did, but we settled down and chatted about this and that and I took my leave as it was the last episode ever of Desperate Housewives yes I have many guilty pleasures when it comes to TV, though I watched Zoolander on Friday night which wasn’t so much a pleasure that an outrageous aberration on my part.

Back to the fried chicken, when I commuted to London I was always on the late train (due to work) and man on there used to get the Bucket of chicken for the Kentucky, 10pc Fries corn coleslaw beans litre bottle of coke and scoff the lot in the hour the journey took, every night, there’s a lesson to be learned there, for the next time I give into a craving.

 

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, UK Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fried Chicken & Bagpipes

  1. Fried chicken… not good for the stomach LOL But Queen seem to like to end their song One Vision with it, so it can’t be all bad.

    Like

Comments are closed.