Words.

I’ve been in quite a lengthy discussion on another blog place about the power of words, and how were defined by them or how others define us.

I’ve always felt that words can excite, enthrall, provoke, inspire, comfort soothe, be humorous, be poetic, lyrical, profound, they at the same time can be used as weapons to harm dismiss, mock, belittleĀ  control, oppress, threaten deride, toxic

There are so many combinations in which they can be used to resonate with others, there are of course words that were not supposed to use especially those that denigrate sexuality, race, religion.

I think sometimes this where free speech becomes confusing in as much yes we are free to think and say what we want but it doesn’t mean that every utterance spewed forth should be we forget people who live within a strict regime have no voice at all.

Never the less words in our every day interactions can have a powerful effect, on our perceptions of others which can lead to judgments or assumptions about others.

We can use words to fight our corner or in effect ward off negative word against us and the feelings will linger long after.

I don’t particularly like the labels we place on each other, but it’s human nature to categorise or to place in a box so we relate to them differently.

So do you choose your words carefully or do you say whatever comes to mind and deal with the fallout(if any) afterwards.

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words.

  1. earthfae says:

    I think most people are a mix. The context, situation, and emotional state is important to what a person chooses to say.

    I know an otherwise rational woman who chooses her words carefully and tries to think of different view points, but when it comes to non-Christian religions or beliefs she completely loses it and takes a very different tone than usual.

    I am the same way when it comes to some topics; and I think most people do have differect reactions per situation.

    Like

    • I agree with what were passionate about our tone and words change, or if you feel outraged again your reaction will spike to another level.

      I don’t believe in mincing ones words but you can take the edge of if you take a moment to think..though that’s not always easy.

      Like

  2. I’m usually a mix… but I can’t stand politics at work. Bollocks to it LOL I’ll never be a manager, because when I think something’s bullshit, I’ll say so. If I’m pissed off at my workload, I’ll let you know about it soon enough LOL

    I’ll stand up to my manager. She got into a habit of calling us by our last names – no one else said a word but I sent her an email (politely) asking her to stop doing it. I said “My name is Richard. Calling me by my last name makes me feel like I’m back at high school.”

    She stopped after that LOL

    Like

    • Yes I’ve come across that last name thing at work…I was vocal too lol.
      Sometimes you have to be stern with some otherwise they just don’t get it do they, or you have to take them by the hand and lead them to your point..lol.

      Being a manager I have to be clear in my instructions so my tone and words are more measured, with my friends I speak my mind and when dealing with people generally I’m ok unless they piss me off.

      Like

Comments are closed.