Service Please……..

 

I’m told by friends that I’m good at complaining and always being pushed forward when at a restaurant or bar, I’ll only do it if right, but love when I get positive results.

Having worked with people  as a manager in bars and restaurants, I’ve had to deal with my fair share of complaints, mostly genuine and some truly bizarre reasons for wanting a refund or money off..lol.

I do notice people are reluctant to say anything preferring to cool their heels waiting for a table, eating bad food/dirty plates/glasses/bad staff the list is endless and yet people say nothing, frankly I don’t get it it’s your money why be treated badly.

I’ll admit there are ways to complain and staying clam is probably best but over the years I’ve had food or drinks thrown at me ( they pass go and do not collect £200).

I remember one guy at Sunday lunch wanting Roast Lamb when we were only serving Beef and Turkey..lol he got so irate and insisted that I take him to the kitchen to prove we didn’t have any Lamb on the premises.lol( I didn’t) or the lady who took her false teeth out wrapped them in a napkin and they got thrown out, she tried to makes us buy a new set..funnily she called two days after she’s visited us..lol

But really should we accept poor service from whomever we deal with, I think sadly yes, so much is outsourced and I’ve been brought to my knees in tears trying to get someone in a far away land with two cups and a length of string which doubles as a phone one cup placed to the ground.

Most shops, bars restaurants have such a high turnover, they have no training and no interest, I think that if you stay at Macdonald’s the whole day you’ll earn all five stars lol.

Letters and e-mails simiarily go unanswered so what’s the answer..a big fat nothing and your frustration spikes on a daily basis trying to navigate the minefield of bad service.

How do you handle it.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.