Table For One? Yes Just Me

I read a blog on here a few weeks ago (sorry can’t remember the name of the author) anyway she talked about the stigma of eating alone, well tonight I had a short conversation about this.

Earlier I’d been out for dinner at a restaurant, at which I’m a regular and at the table next to me were two girls who live locally to me we exchanged nods hello and continued with our dinner.

Anyway later I saw them again, and one remarked that she felt sorry for me eating alone and felt she should have offered that I join them, I just laughed it off and replied I prefer to eat alone and I was reading and wasn’t really up for conversation she then looked offended I obviously was her missed good deed for the day LOL. (actually I was touched she thought of it)

Now to set the record straight there’s nothing wrong with dining alone, I did  so last night and probably will tomorrow, I like eating alone, because it gives me time with my thoughts or I can get stuck into my latest book, and women eating alone doesn’t scream desperation or loneliness.

I go to several places where the staff know me well, therefore I can usually sit where I want which is never in a corner, and even if I go somewhere new and the wait staff can get a bit panicked by a solo diner I usually reassure them that I’m OK and to just carry on as normal.

So tonight I Googled dining alone and found this list on Wiki How To tips on how to be alone: my responses are in italics

* Write

I keep a blog and always have a note-book handy

* Be Happy

Yes I’m happy,

* Do everything you would normally do with a friend

I do that anyway

* Learn something new

Learn something new everyday and that includes taking classes

* Get A pet

I have two cats already, and they are independent

* Read

I do voraciously

* Join an online community

Erm yes done that!

* Sing or Dance

Well singing is for the shower or when drunk at karaoke and dancing only when moved to

* Think

Oh come on !

* Exercise

No!

* Listen to music

Wow I never thought of that!

Well according to the list I’m done whatever will I do tomorrow, that’s the problem with unhelpful advice on how we should live our lives or be part of life.

As a singleton I enjoy eating alone/cinema/travel which are the biggies and I also read that there is a new App called “Invite For A Bite” where women can invite random strangers to eat with them so as to give the impression that they are not alone, who really wants to eat with a stranger.

dining alone means I meet all kinds of people and have some great discussions without them actually sitting at my table or either feeling obliged to talk it’s just cool when it does happen.

I like the cinema alone because I have chatty friends and it pisses me off to pay £10 plus to listen to them talk..lol

The same with travel I can meet and chat to others be part of the group but I can also do my own thing, also organised group activities gives me hives!

The downside of all of this is that I have one of those faces so the weird and wonderful always want to talk to me and relate their entire life story or medical history, seriously if I were Robinson Crusoe I would build a raft in less than a day to get away from Man Friday LOL.

So leave us single diners alone.

 

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Thoughts, Women and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Table For One? Yes Just Me

  1. I enjoyed this article. It was really, really, good. By the way, I enjoy dining alone as well.~Shamenomore

    Like

  2. mkultra76 says:

    I very much enjoyed this. Why should it be a “shame” to eat alone? It’s quite peaceful, actually.

    Like

    • It is peaceful, and it also means I can eat my food whilst hot..lol, but more than that it’s 2012 it shouldn’t be a big deal. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Comments are closed.