The CardBoard Box

 

I’ve recently got back in touch with a very old friend, well her son found me on Facebook and tentatively asked are you..Y  I think you know my mum…T, it was a bolt out of the blue as I’d been trying to find her on FriendsReunited and on FB, as I’ve learned she’s not social networker.

We’ve had our first phone call in over twenty years, a teary catch up with our news  then she said it, do you remember the card board box..the years fell away and we dissolved into giggles in the only way young girls can, it’s only funny to us , I suppose you had to be there.

Anyway we met when we were six living on a housing estate in NW London, it was summer I’m not sure of the exact month so the song above was number one in June of 1971

There were two main play areas, and lots of greenery with a few hilly areas, god knows how we both ended up there, but we did and like most six yr olds we were up for some mischief.

We found a huge cardboard box, and the two of us pulled it up the steepest slope we both squeezed  in and tried to make it slide down, of course it didn’t but with the determination of the young we tried and tried, eventually it happened we went barreling down the slope our breath caught in our throats as the excitement built giving way to hysterical shrieks.

The box fell apart about towards the end and we rolled down the rest of the slope on our own, landing in a heap at the bottom, looking at each other in surprise and then burst into uncontrollable laughter, I remember my sides aching the tears streaming a few moments of unadulterated joy, in my mind’s eye I can se it now.

We became best friends from that moment on, we tried to find another box to  recapture the moment, but couldn’t find another box, however the friendship was sealed.

In our twenties our lives separated as we followed different paths for her marriage and children and for me a career which meant much moving around and we just lost touch.

We plan to meet soon and I can’t wait, we have much to share and I get to meet the kids one I’ve not seen since he was a baby the one who contacted me I never met.

Sometimes it’s good to go back.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The CardBoard Box

  1. Dear trh,

    We used to go sliding with cardboard boxes too!! You’ve just brought it all back, it was hilarious. Thank you. 🙂

    Love Dotty xxx

    P.S. I wonder how many kids do it nowadays. Not many.

    Like

Comments are closed.