Overheard By The Know It All!

 

In my favourite waterhole yesterday, have a spot of supper I happened to be sitting next to a very vocal lady and her companions.

At first I really took little notice, but it was alike a little buzz in my ear, so when my supper arrived and I tucked in at first thinking I was eating too fast, and could feel the onset of indigestion, I realised it wasn’t the delicious food but the woman next to me.

Well she expounded on so many subjects it’s hard to select any one topic but suffice to say she was annoying to the nth degree.

She talked of religion, and how the Bible was written by man therefore was not to be believed as it discriminates against women, then it’s the missionaries bringing religion to poor countries that ruined many cultures, and they are mainly all paedophiles anyway.

By this time she realised I kept glancing over and rolling my eyes with her companions, her daughter who was about twelve was mortified, and everytime someone interjected she kept telling them to keep their voices down, when you could have heard her from the other side of the pub.

I piped up and said although people tend not to really discuss what they think are taboo subjects like religion/politics, how did she arrive at her opinions.

She told me that no one had one through what she had one through in life (big statement) and upon her travels and hour and hours of reading and deep thought she had arrived at her conclusions.

I responded that she seemed to hold the populist views on most of the subjects she covered, in which the deep thought had already been applied by others and she was just repeating it.

This was met with a stoney glare and a comment from her daughter that her mother wasn’t used to people challenging her..lol

She again reiterated that her life was such that she knew much about these subjects and had I lived a day of her life I’d understand where she was coming from and that everybody she knew came to her with their problems because she shared her deep knowledge and wisdom on the human condition (another a lady opposite kept giggling)

My response was that all ou lives are different and the path that we take bring us to unexpected places at times, therefore she cannot compare and insist that her own experiences and thought process is the correct one, and we cannot assume that another’s knowledge of life is less valuable than our own.

Of course I didn’t know what I was talking about, and she didn’t feel it fair that I attack her in this way (got to love those passive aggressives) I explained patiently that I was attacking her but challenging her views seeking to understand how they developed, but if she was going to be obnoxious in stating her view, then any useful discussion is now moot.

Again she tried to say I lacked understanding and if I knew what she knew I would agree to which I promptly disagreed with that premise, to which I quoted

The mind is like a parachute and  functions best when open

Frank Zappa

I turned way and ordered another wine whilst she talked about many other topics even saying she gives air to these soundbites on Facebook and Twitter..lol

don’t you just love a know it all, it’s impossible to have any kind of debate with them and if you’re not willing to walk lockstep with their views they simply dismiss you, but every now and then I like to throw a spanner in the works.

Though to add the lady sitting opposite we spent the rest of the evening discussing every subject under the sun, over a bottle of wine, so it wasn’t a complete waste of time.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogs, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.