The Horrors Of Daytime TV

 

As it rained all day, I had an unexpected sofa day, which is always a plus, usually I put on some old movies or TV programmes, but decided on daytime TV.

Good grief clearly I’ve not been missing anything and could literally feel my brain cells turning to mush, don’t get me wrong I have my programmes that I like and am faithful to those but as to the rest seems to me TV has turned in to dumbing down for the masses.

Lets see first there was a chat show “Jeremy Kyle Show”  a confessional TV , he the presenter has set himself up as judge jury and executioner, insulting people complete with DNA tests and lie detectors.

A few years ao his programme was subject to a court case where to antagonists got into a fight, the upshot being they felt they were encouraged to do so for ratings the judge agreed and said the whole programme was akin to bear-baiting, having said that I have little sympathy for people who willingly air their dirty laundry on TV.

Next was a daily magazine programme “Good Morning” in which more vapid interviews are held, and celebrities (not stars of stage and screen) I mean the reality show types promoting their new fitness DVD or make up range barely able to string two words together, they also make a passing stab at current events, which doesn’t produce any debate or further knowledge of the subject matter.

Next is Loose Women (like The View but not nearly as earnest) a group of what they call dynamic women, maybe they were at one time but clearly have no idea of what is going on in the world, especially as they are all the type who go to the opening of an envelope, and appear in all the magazines their lurid tales of extra marital affairs emblazoned across the front.

We had a break for the news and I was losing the will to live.

Then we had “Sixty Minute Makeover”  yep the answer is in the title, people allowing interior designers to come decorate their houses for free, I nearly up chucked lunch listening to the patronising comments about textures, colour blah blah

Then some kind of antiques programme not to be confused with the far more superior Antiques Roadshow, but some really cheap version and watching alleged antique dealers ripping people of for their possessions.

A detective programme followed I must have seen this about tens times, seriously I could have acted in the bloody thing.

Lastly some tea time quiz show..don’t even go there.

The evenings are taken up with reality shows another parade of the talentless looking to be famous, it’s a wonder they have enough footage for an hour-long show I’ve never heard such drivel.

As kids everyone sat down in front of the TV every night it was a family thing and it appeared to me that there was more choice and the quality was definitely better, but now the adverts seem more entertaining even better if you have a short attention span.

TV is like a stranger we invited into our homes who never left, they have grown in dimensions too with surround sound, do I really want realistic sounds of aeroplanes flying around my lounge  a resounding NO, Lol we don’t even et up to switch the TV over now…remember that, we channel surf and pay huge sums of money for 500 channels and can’t find anything to watch.

It looks like it’s going to rain again I’ll do as my mother always said read a book.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Culture, Television and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Horrors Of Daytime TV

  1. It must be the same everywhere. Daytime TV here is horrible too. All of those channels and nothing is any good.

    Like

  2. LOL I was on a daytime TV show once… but you’ll have to wait for me to write a post about that LOL

    Interesting to see that the quality of the TV hasn’t improved in the nearly 8 years since I left. But hey, if it’s any consolation, the daytime (and most of the evening) shows in the US are kinda crappy too.

    Like

Comments are closed.