Memories: I Remember When!

I was talking to an old school friend the other day, just remembering some of our school days, when she mentioned our first grown up disco (I don’t think they call them that now), it was to be held at  a local hall with no adults to supervise woo hoo,

I remember it took weeks to save up for the ticket a whole £3.00 ($6.00),saving every penny I could get my hands on, lol..

Then of course I needed a dress and as mum was handy with a needle she made me a fabulous grown up dress ..well I was Fifteen, and a big plus I was staying over at a friends house, its great when you have friends that have liberal parents.

We got to C’s house after school about four in the afternoon can you just imagine three teenage girls getting ready to go out I still don’t think I’ve ever seen so much makeup, hair rollers combs brushes, the smelliest of perfumes, and clothes covering every surface, and the giggling it’s a wonder we made it.

There we were ready at seven pm dressed in our finery, my dress was purple satin with a black bolero jacket sky high heels, enough makeup to put Revlon to shame my hair was set like tortoishell it would take weather of epic proportions to move it,

C had red satin trousers and a sparkly top and S wore a sparkly blue dress lots of sequins I seem to remember, both wore gravity defying make up and rock hard hairdo’s, oh I forgot we loved lip gloss strawberry flavour..lol we staggered to the bustop with C’s mums laughter ringing in our ears, we each had £5.00 spending money, and we had to be home by evelen pm omg to us that was like being out all night.

We finally arrived meeting up with our friends all the sqealing about each others dresses all the boys dresses in trousers shirt and ties some even wore suits, on entering the dark hall, this also caused ripples of excitement loads of balloons every where music thumping (didn’t seem loud then), just a few people dancing the rest of us standing around waiting for something to happen, we were good girls no alcohol, but we all smoked because it was so terribly grown up we used to smoke one fag(cigarette) between about five of us.

Gradually we all started to dance and dance music loud and pumping, much laughter, all of us thinking how grown up we were, the boys only dancing when the slow dances came on they seemed to kind of unpeel themselves from the four walls and suddenly appeared in front of us, so with most of us our first time dancing with a boy up close and personal so to speak..lol.

All to soon it was over and we girls learned a lesson that night..yes overhead harsh lighting…lol we looked like Pandas, on the way home we got a bag of chips each and with swollen feet tottered home laughing and giggling all the way, the BEST night EVER.

Little did we realise that we would never be that age again.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Culture, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memories: I Remember When!

  1. I remember my first party… I was 14… my Mum bought me a six pack of Heineken (*bleurgh*) from Fine Fare because she (rightly) didn’t want me drinking something strange at the party…

    Like

Comments are closed.