When I Grew Up

 

As a child I daydreamed a lot, mainly about being someone else well ok I’ll admit it about being rich and famous.

My friends and I would play dress up and concoct little plays, and it was always the same thing we were princesses and were going to be swept of our feet by some handsome prince. And in school plays I was never more than a tree or an extra in the background.

Of course in these scenario’s we were also writers that were going to write the book that took the literary world by storm, that didn’t pan out either, though at school I did well in English but didn’t really write enough, and it was all about me.

Then I was going to be a singer like in the musicals, the hills weren’t alive with music but with the sound of breaking glass and although convince I was to be the next Julie Andrews or Judy Garland expensive lessons proved otherwise

A ballerina, I was told too big, but to be honest I liked the costumes more than the actual dance, I tried tap dance and that didn’t work either, other forms of dance were tried, but I didn’t have the required discipline to see it through preferring to trip the light fantastic at the local disco.

The upshot is that those dreams faded, and I discovered I could be what ever I wanted to be, but still enjoy, being moved by music watching those with real interpret music with dance or see words enacted on stage or screen, which is much more pleasurable.

I had new dreams later some of which has happened and as new challenges arise I hope to make those a reality to, but there are still times in my mind’s eye I see that little girl with her head full of dreams still waiting to be discovered.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Culture, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I Grew Up

  1. Dreams are what keep us alive. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.