The Computer Said NO!

My laptop after many warnings decided to get sick, hence no internet for four days.

Logged on last Saturday night, and kaput, and then spent as we all have done several hours trying to get it to work and no amount of system restores, re-doing all the various settings etc.etc. could get it to work.

I ran the gamut of emotions, anger being the most prevalent, even finding a hammer to smash it to tiny pieces and it being the weekend there was no one available to fix it.

Anyway a nice neighbour pointed me in the direction of a nice man who could fix it, so I trotted over and handed him my instrument to the virtual highway and tonight it was returned fully restored, it had a nasty virus.

The relief I felt knowing that all was well, got me thinking about my obvious internet addiction, yes I work and read books and stuff and even have a life, but it pales into insignificance when every tiny silly thought that pops into my head can be answered if I Google it…lol.

I have had more time, but I did miss my online life, and the several blogs I write as well as th many that I read, I feel as though I’ve been missing out, OK I’ll admit it I’m just nosy and like to know what’s going on.

Anyway I’m back, and glad to be back.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Culture, Thoughts, UK Blogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Computer Said NO!

  1. Must be in the stars or something because I was having a very bad tech day on Friday… methinks I’ll have to reformat my drive and reinstall Windows again *sigh*

    Actually, that doesn’t bother me so much, it’s trying to get iTunes reinstalled and my music library back up and running because iTunes doesn’t like it when you plug in your iPod after a reformat. It thinks you’ve hooked up someone else’s iPod to your computer and wants to wipe it. It takes me days (sometimes a week) to get it back the way I want it *grrrrrrrrrrrr*

    Like

    • If you have to do a reinstall of everything, that is even worse as it takes so long to get everything back the way you want it, I keep my music on a seperate hard drive.

      Like

  2. So do I… but iTunes still doesn’t like it when you reformat and plug the iPod back in because it thinks it’s not associated with that library…

    Like

  3. So pleased you’re back! Amazing how we all get used to the techy stuff in our lives isn’t it? We had a power cut a few weeks ago and I felt lost …. and yet when it was restored I got on with my life, and funnily enough, for hours, none of it involved electricity!

    Like

  4. CraftyChica27 says:

    My laptop has a virus now too, but I am too stubborn to get it fixed. I am lucky enough to have a desk top, so I have been using that. I have tried everything to try to fix my damn laptop, but I think I have only made it much worse. How much did you spend on fixing your lap top? Also, did they have to delete any of your files? –word documents, photos? That is my main fear.

    Like

    • I didn’t spend anything to fix it and lost no data, I just copied my pics to my external hard drive as with my important files and used recovery discs which basically replaces your OS(operating system).

      I usually write my posts on google docs and then copy and paste to here so I never lose anything.

      Like

Comments are closed.