Flaming Flamers

Like most I belong to several online forums and have done for years, the reason I like forums is the diversity of the blogs I read and the many friends I’ve made over the years some of whom I’ve met, that especially is a boon, as your face to face instead of blog to blog.

The people behind the screen vary, but in one particular blog space I us it’s become a war zone, seemingly we are not tolerant of other’s views, lifestyles, age, race the list is endless.

I’m no phycology expert but have seen enough of life to understand that some people are just not happy unless they’re making someone else as miserable as they are, this is the downside of being online flamers can hide behind their screens and project all their personal dissatisfaction onto others.

Now I love a good rant, it’s natural we all have to let go but to be constantly so angry whereby it rules your life, beggars belief.  This new trend of attacking the person behind the argument as opposed to challenging the argument itself is the worst kind of communication as it serves no purpose except to the flamer.

Flamers,  instigate, manipulate any situation to their own ends , christ they don’t even need a reason and if they find a target for their ire, the gloves are off, and to watch as I’m watching a daily assault, powerless as myself and others have tried to reason with them to no avail.

They are also flaming the same person on their blogs, we have gone to the site and they say as they don’t mention names there is nothing to be done, we have all blocked, and they just create new “Sock Puppet”  profiles,to continue, even crazily arguing with themselves on their own blog to make it seem as though they were under attack.

This is what disturbs me is the completely “off kilter” tone to their comments and blogs, however the don’t have an “off button” for their outrageous behaviour and the more we ignore the more they flame, what a way to get your jollies...NOT .

I must mention the insidious little trolls who join the flamer, like it’s some kind of sorority, and as we have found people wh we thought we knew creating new profiles so they can flame on the dark side, and switch back and forth.

I’ll probably leave that forum as this has gone on for about three months with no signs of abating, which is a shame as we were a relatively happy group until this flamer got in amongst us, and I hate to feel powerless, especially against someone who is faceless.

 

 

 

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Thoughts, UK Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flaming Flamers

  1. Welcome to the internet.

    Like

  2. Great post. I totally agree. I too have noticed this behavior in some fourms. Some people are majorly screwed up. I have been harassed myself and once was even called a troll by one.
    These idiots have too much time on their hands.

    Like

Comments are closed.