Mothering Sunday

 

Today in the UK it’s Mothers Day.

Whenever I see an image of a mother and child to me it has the power to move, and leaves me with a nice feeling and most of all hope, when there are so many unwanted children I’m in awe of those who stay the course.

Mothers are always at the center of our lives in one way or other they seem able to endure almost anything to keep a family together, they more than just nurture for me it’s where I get my ultimate comfort.

When I say comfort I’ve many times in the past, gone back home to tail between my legs, and the door opens, and already you know they’re making up the bed in the spare room and will prepare your favourite childhood snack which you never eat anywhere but there.

Your appreciation at those times are immeasurable because your transported back to your childhood, when in your hurry to grow up you miss the mothering, that seems so much more important when you hit your twenties and thirties and you just need a friend who is without judgment well a little but they know you really know you, and it’s the place where you can’t hide.

When I look back at the things my mother taught me, things I thought so useless in what was going to be my absolutely fabulous life, I amaze myself that not only do I do the things she says but quote her often, in some ways I’ve become her which is not bad.

She is no longer here and I miss her terribly still almost ten years on, but she sends me signs I’m sure a light touch on my shoulder the shadows I sometimes see when I’m walking, when the sun comes out I feel the warmth of her smile,and the comfort of her essence which is all around.

So today as always I wish her Happy Mothers Day..xx

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Thoughts, UK Blogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.