Flim Friday #5 The Odd Couple

 

The Odd Couple written by Neil Simon the film(1968) was adapted from his stage play of the same name.

The stars:

Walter Matthau as Oscar Maddison

Jack Lemon as Felix Ungar

 

The story opens with Felix (lemon) wife has thrown him out and he goes to a hotel to kill himself, his friends at Friday night poker recieve a call from Felix’s wife to let them know what’s happened.

He doesn’t kill himself and his friend Oscar(Matthau) is shanghaied into taking him in.

This excellent farce then shows us the differences between people and that Felix is a complete neurotic personality and clean freak and Oscar (Matthau) a complete slob.

Watching the by-play between them is a joy such contrasting actors, but ideal for the part, they read Simons lines as though written for them in mind.

It culminates in a disastrous dinner party in which firstly Oscar is late and the meatloaf Felix has prepared will spoil if not eaten in the next 15 minutes, th ladies arrive and that too doesn’t go well until Felix whilst Oscar is getting drinks breaks down and tells them the story of his marriage breakdown.

Oscar returns with drinks to find them all crying and the ladies will now be preparing dinner, that for Oscar was the last straw.

They fall out and Oscar finally cracks, here’s one of my favourite lines that precipitated Felix disappearing again.

Oscar Madison: I can’t take it anymore, Felix, I’m cracking up. Everything you do irritates me. And when you’re not here, the things I know you’re gonna do when you come in irritate me. You leave me little notes on my pillow. Told you 158 times I can’t stand little notes on my pillow. “We’re all out of cornflakes. F.U.” Took me three hours to figure out F.U. was Felix Ungar!

A cracking must see film reminiscent of the 1930’s.

 

 

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Film, Film Review, UK Blogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.