A Helping Hand

 

Walking around town yesterday I noticed there seemed to be more charity collectors than usual, now I’m not against it but I do find it annoying that every twenty paces or so someone is shaking a can in my face.

The need for collection seems endless and I’m sure many are worthwhile, but I don’t like to be guilted into “giving” especially on the run and when I don’t have time to talk or even to research, as this seems to be a big industry for fraud also.

Don’t get me wrong but the whole concept of helping is so different from what I was taught as a child, as kids we were encouraged to open doors, give up a seat, looking in on an elderly neighbour, that kind of thing, which were in fact the normal day-to-day curtesies but are now called good deeds!.

As I got older I helped out in homeless shelters, charity shops, I volunteer with  at the local library with adult literacy, and especially with today’s economy we simply just don’t have the money, or always the inclination to do more as our own concerns with jobs, family life etc, take over.

I feel as though if we can do more locally especially with children so they learn what being in a community means, and therefore will offer their help in a myriad of ways, and these things can  help and can make a difference, and your reward is that you recognised and helped another in need.

I’m no caped crusader always seeking ways to help sometimes opportunities present themselves and other times you have to put your hand up and offer, either way it doesn’t make your contribution less valuable.

We can’t always do the extraordinary, like travel abroad as aid workers, though I think all governments could do more if they don’t have the employment for their own country men/women they should pay and send them to countries that need them, make use of their skills whilst unemployment is high, it’s a win, win situation, you still get to use your skills and help and are not a further drain on the system in terms of paying out benefits.

Alternatively use them more in the voluntary sector, in their own countries, and no you won’t earn the kind of money your used to but you’re doing something, within your community  that makes a difference and it means it gives people back their pride in doing a days work, you know they feel like they’re a part of society.

So next time somebody shakes a can in your face asking for money turn it around and think what else can you do that makes a measurable difference, in your community.

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Thoughts, UK Blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.