Leaving The Playground

Even as a child I was never part of a gang as was called then and I mean that in terms of I never hung around with any particular set of people, my friends have always been varied and even at a young age I never had the same compulsion to “fit in” and be swayed by my peers, that’s not to say I didn’t have my battles and it did not stop my being bullied because I wouldn’t do as others did.

When you’re a child and in your teens it’s so important to fit in with others, because it’s here that you seek your identity, but it can also be the most damaging aspect to your growth.

I find the same with supposed adults, those that seek to lead or be seen as leader not only in their jobs but also their moral aspect too, and unfortunately there are some that are only too willing to follow, you could say to hide their own insecurities.

To follow another blindly, is foolhardy in many ways as you are then complicit in their idea of supremacy over others, however the downside is that you can never then disagree and be taken seriously, by those who like me will oppose them, and therefore will be disliked in those circles.

I hold the thought that you can challenge any argument/idea, simply because you can learn and from that you can grow, by being open to other channels of thought, you can expand your knowledge and understanding of any given subject.

However it’s not always easy to speak up as some just will not allow it, and browbeat you into being “one of us” again I see this often too often for me to be comfortable with and as for the armchair physcologists who feel they have to give reasons for their behaviour and yours boorish, and often without foundation.

The other aspect of bullies is their supporters who will parrot everything they say further reinforcing this false supremacy of your group, treating us all as though stupid and unable to complete a thought process that isn’t directed by them.

I often wonder how often we all give in, or just keep quiet because we want to keep our heads under the parquet, so we don’t incur the wrath of those who like to beat us over the head with their obnoxious views on life.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Blogs, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.