Rear Window

Like many I spend a great deal of time online and belong to several different forums either for blogging or discussion.

What surprised me mostly about online forums is how wrapped up people become in the virtual world, to the point where it seems to replace their real one.

I’ve watched many times how topics of discourse have completely spiralled out of control degenerating into personal attacks, the point of the topic lost and where all seem to be hell-bent on proving their “right“.

I find that being online you have to make more effort in your communication with others, as you don’t have eye contact/body language/tone of voice to guide your reactions to what is said or meant, but it appears people want to tackle what they perceive to be bad instead of asking a simple “what do you mean by that”, or would that be too simple.

It’s easy to hide true natures behind a screen as seen recently here in the UK a woman had been stalked for several years on the internet and it was her actual boyfriend, imagine that, to watch the reality of her torment, but her not realising his true nature until by accident he posted some information that only they both knew and he was found out.

That’s the problem with being online do we really know who were talking to, so many people create “sock puppet” profiles to vehemently argue with you but under their regular profile show you support against your tormentor.

Mostly I’ve been quite fortunate in my online friendships some of which have extended beyond my laptop, but for others I’m still wary of some behaviours exhibited, which seem to veer from one extreme to the other.

It reminds me of the film “Rear Window” where a photographer is home due to a broken leg and from his window he watches his neighbours and sees them as they really are, and sees the loneliness, despair and just real lives, the side we rarely show to the public, so it’s easy to see how some will see the internet as a way of being noticed and validated in some way.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Blogging, Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rear Window

  1. Brilliant! I read something similar to this the other day .. it’s quite frightening isn’t it? Luckily my husband and I sit side by side lap-topping .. and I have to say I don’t have a stalker anyway … but how dreadfully creepy that story is!

    I think online chatting and texting are both dodgy grounds and new rules should apply. So many people I know have had bust ups over mis-understood texts and, like you say, arguments can start over someone maybe not quite thinking about what they have typed, or mis-reading/mis-judging what someone else is trying to say.

    I saw the film Rear Window and found it so insightful. I had neighbours years ago who looked just like Barbie & Ken and would argue and shout the most dreadful abuse at each other in their back garden and within seconds walk out the front door holding hands smiling looking for all the world like the perfect couple… very odd!

    Very interesting post … thanks so much!

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, I think people forget they’re online and don’t always realise how extreme their behaviour can appear.

      But the flip side is those who do enter various online forums purely to create havoc, quite scary.

      As for the girl with her boyfriend that’s so super creepy, talk about cat and mouse.

      Like

Comments are closed.