Do The Right Thing.

 

In my job, as an interviewer I have to pose the following question to a candidate, it’s supposed to demonstrate personal honesty and integrity.

Tell me about a time when you have had to do something because it’s the right thing to do.

Although the candidates are interviewing for a customer service based jobs, they can give examples from their work, personal,academic life, the answers can be quite startling from very personal family issues to the mundane, however to them it meant they were in a situation of doing the “right thing”.

It got me thinking about the opposite of the times when I perhaps should have stood up and said or did something but didn’t, the difficulty comes in knowing whether or not to become involved, and how do you become involved.

I would like to say that I’m happy to jump in and support friends colleagues, but it doesn’t always end there, and you can invest a lot of time and find that it wasn’t actually worth the effort, but niggling at the back of your mind it could have been more serious.

That brings me to the thought do you help because of how it makes you feel, or because you can in this one particular situation make a significant difference to someone else, even if it’s just holding their hand, are our motives pure a genuine need to help.

For me I always choose to help beyond the common curtesies of holding a door open to speaking up for someone who can’t always speak for themselves, therefore doing the right thing comes in many guises, and remembering people don’t always want you to go the extra mile, but appreciate that you asked/noticed.

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.