Speaking In Tongues

 

Reading an article today it lamented that kids don’t seem to have much of an attention span, and certainly not enough to read a book from cover to cover.

Coming from a time when reading was considered a good use of your time, I find it hard to accept that kids simply do not read very much, but it appears to be the case.

Well what was thought as reading like the classics etc kids now prefer to read about what interests them, but is aligned with favourite TV shows like Dr Who or Harry Potter, but it’s still reading, better than not.even more kids it seems are leaving school without being able to read and write, which means there vocabulary is also limited, and those who can read have fallen prey to the dreaded Text Speak.

It was torture for many at school to stand up and read aloud, but I can see the benefits, and being able to actually have a conversation well one you can follow with constantly having to ask what they mean.

I think most use a form of abbreviation but I prefer the words made into proper sentences, like reading a book where you can become immersed in the characters, and the storyline, as those books tend to stay with you and if like me I tend to read the same books several times each time gaining a new perspective, so thank goodness my attention span is intact.

I do feel that reading should be a joy and not a chore, but it’s never too late to start.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking In Tongues

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Reading should be a joy, always. A chore only makes reading harder.

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment, I can’t imagine a world without books.

    Like

Comments are closed.