Is The Past More Interesting Than The future

The title comes from a comment I overheard a week into the New Year, and I’ve been pondering on it ever since.

The past is well just that, it’s what shapes us from through the history of our families, and we only hear of the stories that make it down the line after much retelling.

As a girl I asked so many questions about what happened in the past, what brought us to this point, I don’t suppose I’ll ever have definitive answers as people die and a little bit of the past dies with them.

It makes me think often of my mother who died several years ago and my grandmother who died last year, and talking with my aunt, we realises she’s the only one left who remembers me when I was a child, though the stories are from her perspective, I find it soothing to hear her thoughts.

But what of the future well it hasn’t happened yet, one can only hope there will be interesting but to compare the two is impossible, but we always carry a little of the past with us, the impact on the future is unknown and that’s what I like most about life is the unpredictability that each day month year brings us and how we adapt to it, and of course the people who come into our lives.

I think the past and the future are equally interesting.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Blog, Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.