Do you Know Who I Am…..erm… No

I’ve just watched another dreadful episode of American Idol(now watching Gladiator), but it got me wondering, can any of these wannabee’s live up to the title “Idol”

It used to be that talent real talent was required to attain Idol or Legendary status, by those who for years thrilled us with their performing abilities, and who are never forgotten.

Now it’s a never ending round of reality TV the talentless making huge sums of money, and were inflicted with their daily presence until the next no talent personality comes along, and I use personality very lightly, as even the most basic intelligence is not required, just the ability to enhance and display inflated or frozen body parts.

I for one am sick of it, and what gets me is again the lack of self-awareness, that mediocre is not good enough, the message that it sends to young people is all wrong, because they think it’s a shortcut to fame and fortune, and are not prepared to work for it, and that is very sad, I feel you have to earn what you have in life and not be given it.

The loss of Etta James really brought it home to me, the kids have no idea what real talent is, yes her life was not ideal as with many others but she came from humble beginnings and made something of herself as did many others and  often at great cost to them.

I lament we have very few “Stars” just wannabee’s who think that reality TV is their gateway to fame, pity they don’t think of the downside, or worse is that nobody cares, they’re merely fodder for the media for all the wrong reasons.

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.