A Winter’s Tale

 

Today was one of those winter’s day’s when I didn’t want to leave the house, but had to I started my new job, so any idea of snuggling back under the quilt was discarded.

The sky was a slate grey and the wind biting the kind of cold that chills you to the bone, walking to my job it reminded me of when I had the long walk to school.

I remember as a child before central heating when you could see your breath in the air, and the floors and windows cold to the touch, the mad dash to the bathroom your ablutions over quick smart, before going down to the kitchen for a bowl of porridge(to this day I can’t eat porridge) but as the adverts at the time said it was like a ring of heat that kept you warm.

It was a forty-five minute walk to school, and we had to go past the local park, the grass white with frost and th leave blowing in the breeze, we walked fast in those days hands tucked deeply in pockets head down, not stopping until we reached the school gates hoping against hope the boiler would be broken and we’d be sent home, but that never happened.

So now I relish winter days because it means I can stay home wrapped up either reading or watching an old movie, fighting with the cats for the best spot on the sofa a battle I often lose..lol

Today would have been the perfect day for that.

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.