Sleeping Beauty

There are times in my life when I’ve felt like sleeping beauty, I’ve not awoken to a handsome prince, but certainly to a new phase of my life.

The last five years have been less than stellar in my estimation, and travelling along that very dark road, I never thought I’d see the light again, but I have.

Grief, depression a very stressful job took its toll so I suppose the crash was inevitable, and it took me to an unexpected place, basically to my core, and I’ve had to rebuild, it’s also and painful process with more pitfalls than I could ever imagine.

But finally I’ve come full circle and back to the person I essentially am, but now with more insight, and much less need to barrel my way through life and its many challenges.

It’s never easy to look inside yourself to re-evaluate the person within, to really put it all out there and dissect it piece by piece and then to put it all together again, like a jigsaw, but more interchangeable.

Those first baby steps back into the land of the living , were so scary, at first only allowing myself small forays into the outside world, and gradually gaining more confidence as I stepped on each stone until I was fully part of the fabric of everyday life again.

I’ve made new friends who knew nothing of me before old friends that stuck around through the journey have been immeasurable in their support and allowing me to be me and taking the changes in their stride, whilst others just faded into the distance fearing my raw pain was catching, or with one or two a mirror in which they could bear to look at.

I am awake though no kiss from a prince but that I’m sure is yet to come.

 

 

About therabbitholez

I returned to this blog in September 2014, after a 2 year absence, due to depressive illness and homelessness. This journey charts the rocky road to recovery and my feelings about it, and getting a home together after losing everything, this too has been a rocky rocky, both things connected on many levels, but separate at the same time. If you want to know more please read my blog:) and comment on any blog you like I enjoy the interaction, and belong to a great community on here. Thanks for reading.:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.